Skip to main content

Making your site private

Learn how to make your published Studio.Design site private, along with important things to keep in mind and how to republish it later.

If you want to make a published Studio.Design website unavailable to visitors, you can set your site to private. With this setting, anyone trying to access your site's URL will see a 404 page instead, preventing outside access to your site.

Steps

  1. Open [Settings] from the dashboard of the site you want to update.

  2. Select [General] from the menu on the left.

  3. Click the three-dot menu [...] next to [Publish Status].

  4. Click [Set to Private].

  1. Review the notice, then click [Set to Private] again in the confirmation dialog.

  2. Once the setting is applied, open the URL in a browser to confirm you see the 404 page. That completes the process.

Screenshot: A 404 page being displayed.

Making individual pages private

If you'd like to make only certain pages private instead of the entire site, use the per-page publish settings instead.

Making your site public again

To make a private site public again, simply publish it as you normally would.

  1. Open the design editor.

  2. Click [Publish] in the top right to open the publish panel.

  1. Click [Publish] in the top right of the publish panel.

Screenshot: Clicking the site's Publish button.

For more details, check out these articles:

Note: Republishing a site with a custom domain

If you're using a custom domain, you'll need to reissue and reconnect your TLS certificate. It may take up to 72 hours for the changes to take effect and for your site to be republished.

Did this answer your question?