STUDIO does not have Staging or Backup features implemented yet as of now. You need some tricks to update the published site appropriately.

This article introduces an example of how to update a published site. Please take into account this practice when you update your site.

1)Create a new site on a newly created project, and transfer the current domain to the new project when it is completed.

Steps

  1. Create a new site on a newly created project
    Caution: You can not transfer Models and articles on CMS to the new site with this approach.

  2. Once the new site is ready, disable the domain on the old site and register the domain to the newly created project, and publish the site.

Caveats

  • Your site is inaccessible between you disabled the domain for the old site, and the domain is connected to the new site, and the publication is completed.

  • You can copy and paste the page design to the new site. When you copy and paste the symbolized elements to the new site, it will be pasted as a symbolized element, and you'll see a new symbol in the symbol list. Please make sure to reconfigure property for the CMS list on the new project.

  • All the models, properties, and items registered in the CMS, as well as the Apps integration information, need to be migrated manually.

If you are using your own domain (paid plan)

You need to downgrade the old project and upgrade the new project at unregistering and reregistering domain. Please follow the next step to change the plan for projects when your new project is ready.

  1. Downgrade the old project first.

  2. Upgrade the new project close to the expiration date of the old project (e.g. the day before)

  3. Disconnect the custom domain from the old project

  4. Configure the custom domain on the new project.

If you are using studio.site domain

Same as the custom domain, you need to unregister the domain from the old project and register the domain to the new project.

  1. Unpublish the old project and leave the domain name field blank.

  2. Fill out the domain name in the new project publish configuration and publish the site.

2)Directly change the pages in the project and publish them when they are ready.

This method overwrites the existing page. There's no downtime and no hassle of migrating CMS articles and Apps configurations. However, the drawback is that you can not update the site until the site update is completed. This way is usually recommended in cases where the site is relatively small.

3 )Create a renewal page in the project and replace it when it is ready to be published.

This method creates new pages in the project. Please consider this approach in case the site is relatively large and in use of CMS.

Steps

  1. Add a new page or copy from the existing page, enable noindex configuration.

  2. Change the page path to one that's hard to predict

    ※ Please avoid page paths easily predictable such as "/1" or "/2" to prevent peeping the pages.

    ※ Select "Do not update" when "Are you sure to update the link with the new page ID?" pops up.

  3. When the new pages are ready to release, update the published page paths or delete them.

  4. Change paths of all newly created pages to the real paths.
    ※ Select "Update" when "Are you sure to update the link with the new page ID?" pops up.


  5. Once the edit is completed, confirm links on the page would work and behavior on Live Preview.

  6. Disable noindex setting and update the site.

Did this answer your question?